Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 28th, 2006

I just heard this story on NPR’s marketplace. It seems that after eight years, and more than a billion dollars spent – Wal Mart is ‘rolling back’ and leaving Germany.  Here’s the article:
http://marketplace.publicradio.org/shows/2006/07/28/PM200607283.html  pretty short, but the point is well made.
What do their customers think this is going to do the ‘low’ prices – No doubt the company will roll the loss into the goods in the stores, rather than take the hit. 

Funny, the title of that story is the same thing that Heidi Klum says to the departing contestant each week on Project Runway. If you have time to kill and want a good laugh, the recaps of it on www.twop.com  are hysterical.   Yesterday I had a total heat hangover and spent too much time reading silly stuff there.  

Tomorrow should see the installation of the new a/c unit. Richard and a friend will work on it and I have my fingers crossed that there won’t be any problems.  It has begun to cool off, and I so hope it will last for a while. I don’t believe the weather reports still – they are off by 5-10 degrees still.  It is sooo humid out, and a thick dark cloud cover has been across the sky all day.  I talked with someone from V.Mars today regarding the desert shoot, and she said that it was night shots, and quite comfortable as the humidity is nil. 

Justin and Megan are heading to the beach house tonight for the weekend, followed by Tom and Gretchen on Sunday or Monday. I think.  
I’m jealous again.

Read Full Post »