Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 7th, 2006

What Next?

The other day I read that ESPN is going to begin televising dominoes ( “after the raging success with poker”) and in today’s paper I saw that this weekend in Las Vegas is the World Championship of RPS. Yes, that game you played as a kid, is now a ‘sport’ with a prize of $50,000. For rock-paper-scissors.  Of course Budweiser is a part of it, but come on.  Don’t gett me wrong, I love a challenging game ( we should be getting Word Wars from netflix today,  a documentary about competitive Scrabble ) but is there no end?

I see in the little weather box on yahoo that spring has indeed arrived in the northwest, with Seattle the same temp as here, and Portland even warmer!  Today Sunny and I took a long walk in the cool sunshine. It was nice not to wear a jacket over my t-shirt, this after the sky opened up on us the other day while we were still more than a mile from home, completely drenching us.

Today I plan to finish up the clothes on the rack for T3, then I can do some guilt-free sewing for myself in the next few days.  I also need to finish getting stuff ready for the yard sale ( fabric and stuff ) that we’re having at Julie’s next Saturday. 

I heard an interesting story on NPR yesterday on ‘Marketplace’. You can listen to the it here:  http://marketplace.publicradio.org/shows/2006/04/06/PM200604068.html and then listen to the podcast of the actual tour – a 24 minute audio tour of Wal-Mart here:  http://sweatshopper.org/podcast_listen.htm it is the last item on the page ( walmart standoff ). Kinda makes me want to do the actual thing ( but I have no mp3 player – boo).  I’ve been in the walmart here a couple of times in the 8 or so years its been here, and I could close my eyes and see the whole thing as described, excepting the cameras, of course. Powerful stuff. 

Looking ahead to the weekend of movies, we have coming: Word Wars, Mad Hot Ballroom, and we just watched Paradise Now. I guess you could say we’re in a documentary mode. Paradise Now was a interesting look in to the lives of two suicide bombers outside of Tel Aviv. worth watching.

Read Full Post »